The Wetlands and Beyond

It's a fall morning
with haze in the sky and some
frost on the cold ground

~carliewired

I took my sweet time getting up this morning. Sunrise is all too late for me these days. It was a cool 1 C at my house at 7 AM. I made the essential pot of coffee and sat in my recliner until 9. Then I was off to the wetlands just as the sky was opening up with temporary sunshine. 

I drove as far as the stockpens where I can see to Tranquille Farm and the wetland pond. When I stepped out of the truck I could see a dusting of snow on the top most ridges and frost glistening on the shaded ground. I hate to admit it, but winter is coming on. I could hear the cacophony of geese everywhere. They were filling up the fields in all directions and taking up the east end of the pond. There appeared to be two white sailboats on the pond, but it was merely two swans and their reflections on closer inspection. 

I crossed the tracks onto Red Lake Road to stop by Tranquille River, then turned around at the overlook to Cooney Bay and the railway cut by the lake. The morning sun gave everything a lovely glow. 

I have an appointment this afternoon plus a sewing project to finish. 

We have a cloudy day coming up with a high of 10 C and the possibility of some showers later in the day. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.