Windy and Chill

Our glorious days
are done....the wind feels cold now
and we wait for snow

~carliewired

It was wet and windy overnight. Our warm, sunny days are fading away. We are on the alert for snow. It can come any day now...To travel our highways one must have approved snow tires as of October 1 each year. 
The snow level today is 1300 metres. Thankfully, that's higher than my mountains. 

I had my morning coffee early. As I waited for the light to come up, the weather improved. I left the house for McArthur Island in sunshine. 

I drove into the park by way of the east entrance. As I drove to the Butterfly Garden I found a doe curled up in the woods near the construction zone. As usual, it was her ears that gave her away. I rolled down my passenger window to get a photo, then quietly moved on. 

The Butterfly Garden is now cut back and cleaned up. It seems so bare there now. 

I walked to the pedestrian bridge to see into the slough. Lots of mallard ducks were swimming in circles. I was surprised to see a heron overhead. I haven't seen one around the slough in many months. I crossed the bridge to get a look at my little red bomber and my mountains across the slough. 

As I walked back to my car the wind came up in gusts to blow the leaves across the grass. I was challenged to get a shot of an autumn maple leaf before it blew away. 

I'm in for the day with some office jobs to complete and one small sewing project.

We have a mix of sun and cloud today with a high of 11 C.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.