carliewired

By carliewired

41 F/ 5 C

It is clear and chill.
The sun is deceiving and
the wind has a bite.

~carliewired

I was out on my deck getting the first light behind my mountains just after 7. It was - 2 C so I didn't stand out there very long. 

By the time I drove out to Tranquille it was almost 11. I got a shot of Tranquille Farm looking across the wetlands pond. I found a mob of Canada geese on the pond. They are filling up the hayfields and pastures as they form up to leave. Three swans were on the pond, but the water is so shallow that they are walking in it rather than swimming on it. My surprise was finding an adult bald eagle at the far edge standing in the weeds. 

Two very long freight trains were passing on the Canadian National rail line. One had an enormous load of containers stacked two deep. The other pulled a very long line of what I assumed were cars carrying potash. 

I turned at the end of the road near the farm to get a shot of my mountains to the east. I took a peek into the wetlands water channels. I could see the wind was kicking up dust all along the river. 

My last shot was the hills to the north including Cinnamon Ridge. I scanned the hillsides for mountain sheep, but none were visible today. 

I'm in with many little jobs today. My cranky feet are already complaining. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.