A time for everything

By turnx3

Strange bird at the feeder!

Thursday
Wonders will never cease - we had sun and blue skies today - all day! What a lift it gives to one's spirits! While I was at the kitchen sink this morning I was being amused by the antics of the squirrel at the bird feeder. I have a squirrel baffle on the other feeding station, which actually works, so I don't mind quite so much if they help themselves to some from this one - and besides, it provides me with free entertainment, as they sometimes lose their balance and fall off. Much as I was tempted to walk outside in the sunshine today, I decided I should really get some more intense exercise since I skipped yesterday, so later in the morning I went to the "Y" to swim.
This evening we were at church for our Maundy Thursday service, which commemorates the Last Supper, when Jesus shared the Passover meal with his disciples on the night before he was crucified. During the meal Jesus took bread and wine and shared them with his disciples, so the service includes the sacrament of Communion. The name 'Maundy' is derived from the Latin word "mandatum", meaning a commandment, since Jesus Christ, at the Last Supper, commanded:
'And now I give you a new commandment: love one another. As I have loved you, so you must love one another.' John 13:34
After the communion, the church is "stripped" - the Communion plates and cups, the candlesticks and bible are removed from the communion table and it is draped with a black cloth, and the purple cloth draping the cross is replaced by a black cloth. The service ends in silence, as we remember the events of Good Friday.

One year ago: Spire

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.