BRIANW

By BRIANW

Poppy On A Plinth, Rosary Way, Aylesford

The Rosary Way (at the Friars in my village) is a place of prayer and peace, where you can see the first ever ceramics created by the Polish artist Adam Kossowski. It was laid out between 1950 and 1951 with images of the joyful, sorrowful and glorious mysteries.
Adam Kossowski was an artist totable for his works for the Catholic Church and he arrived here in 1943 as a refugee from Soviet labour camps. One of his first major commsissions was from Fr. Malachy Lynch at the Friars. This what I managed to find out about him:

Kossowski's first large ceramic project was a Rosary Way. When the artist suggested that he may not be "the man who should do that", Fr. Malachy replied, "Adam, I am sure Our Lady has sent you here for that purpose". Kossowski later commented on this project:
"Looking at these Mysteries now, and remembering the agonies, the frenzies and delights of this spontaneous work, I think my inexperience and technical near-impudence contributed much to the freshness and simplicity of these works which, I hope, redeem some of the shortcomings".

The first extra image features one of his ceramics and the quote from him above matches the look of these beautiful works. The Way itself just looked wonderful today (see second extra for the gorgeous autumnal light) and really helped as I had to shuffle round due to having a really bad back (combined with a stomach bug earlier in the week) which has meant I'm not at work at the moment. It so helped take my mind off my problems related to this.
This boiled down to my boss informing me that my "sickness record" would be held against me and that I was causing serious repercussions for him and the company I work for. At that point, for probably the first time ever, I stood up to him because I was so angry at his insinuation and his threats. I have never, ever shirked hard work and I take great pride in taking the very  best photographs that I can of every artwork that I shoot. Putting it as simply as I could I told him that I just couldn't physically do my job at all at the moment because the pain and discomfort was just too bad. It's left me feeling very upset and really considering leaving after thirty years. 



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.