Wind Vane

Another dry day but strong winds again.  Decided to go to Gateshead.  I got off the bus one stop early so I could go and get my blip shot.

Today's Wide Wednesday theme is Single Subject and I wanted a shot of a sculpture  in Windmill Hills Park. Its a quiet little park with lovely views across the River Tyne to Newcastle  The sculpture  stands alone in the Park and I was expecting to get a nice shot.    BUT as you can see from my blip that's not what I've got. 

When I got to the Park the first gate I tried was closed and I could see diggers, workmen, wire fencing everywhere. ( Northumbrian Water were working ) I could see the sculpture in the distance but no way to get to it.  So I walked to another gate which fortunately was open.  However  when I got near the sculpture I saw that it was inside the workmen's compound surrounded by more diggers, portakabins etc with wire fencing all around.it.....  so I just had to take a shot through the fence.  As I had nothing else in mind for my blip I just had to go with this shot.  The sculpture  is called " Wind Vane " and was unveiled in 2001. Its 10 metres high and  constructed from stainless steel and incorporates a rotating section.   This contemporary wind vane commemorates the windmills that once stood in the area..  Thanks to steveng for hosting the challenge.

After getting my photo I carried on walking to Gateshead.  It was quite busy.  Looked in the charity shops - got nothing. Did food shopping in the big Tesco and Iceland.  Started raining while I was wandering around but it didn't come to much.

Back home to find I had missed 7 parcel deliveries. From 4 different companies.  Two items had been placed inside my garage, one was hidden behind the bins, two small ones through my letterbox, one given to a neighbour and one hadn't been delivered as it needed a signature. The driver did come back this evening  with that one. I'm starting early with my online Christmas shopping as you have probably guessed..

Steps today - 9.023

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.