Harrods chocolates!

We slept late today. As we didn't need to be out until 11, there was no hurry. After a small first breakfast of orange juice and a banana each, we left the room and headed down through Kensington in search of somewhere to sit down. Admiring the beautiful buildings on the way, we eventually came out onto Gloucester Street. I wanted to check out the charity shops in the hope of finding some high end bargains. But in the end I discovered that I didn't actually know any names so was none the wiser as to whether I was getting a bargain or not! I did buy a couple of bits though which didn't break the bank.

We went into a small deli which turned out to be Armenian where the lady promised she could provide us with a low fat breakfast. And she did. I only wanted tea and toast but she did an omelette with sweet potato and brocoli for Jon which he enjoyed, and two big pots of fresh tea in lovely glass teapots. We relaxed in the back room where the chairs were all mismatched and the husband came and put the record on for us.

From there, after my quick dip into Oxfam, we walked down to Harrods. We had a lovely time in Harrods. I'll rephrase that. I had a lovely time in Harrods. Jon endured it. Its just a shop, he said, and eventually went and waited for me outside!

We walked up to Hyde Park and sat to eat our lunch overlooking the serpentine. Then walked up to Marble Arch and along Oxford Street. Following a tip from a friend we looked in all the Selfridges Christmas windows. Something that reminded me so much of my dad. When we were children, dad would annually drive us up to Oxford Street in an evening, to see the lights and to look in the windows of Selfridges. As children, I recall each window having a magical and usually animated scene. I also remember wishing that the shop wasn't closed as I would have loved to go in. In those days it was possible to drive right up to London and dad knew every single back street and would meander his way to find a parking space just behind Oxford Street. He would even find a street without a parking meter! No chance of that these days, but that would have been mid 1970s. Then he would stride out ahead of us with mum, Manda and I scuttling along behind, trying to keep up. Happy memories!

Jon and I continued along Oxford Street and ended up in John Lewis. A short spell shopping then on to Oxford Circus where we resorted to a tube train trip back to Liverpool Street, then a train home. A smooth trip which resulted in a cost to us of £6.60 each, both days. So a total of £13.20 each from Ware. The same from Norwich was going to cost us £120.00 each. It is difficult to use public transport when there is such a high cost. Thankfully we had an alternative, and have had a great 2 days in London, and filled every minute. My legs are really feeling it now!

I took a few pictures although my phone was running out of power. This is the box of chocolates in Harrods that I'd like for Christmas please.....I couldn't see a price, but would guess it is in the £ thousands! Lol!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.