Woodhall Spa

Had a bit of a lie-in today - thought I'd earned it after starting early, finishing late yesterday and with the same to come tomorrow.

Once we were organised we took a drive over to Woodhall Spa, the village where I grew up, until I was 21. I must have driven Brian nuts with "That used to be..", "So-and-so used to live there...", I remember...", etc. 

When I lived there, I could not wait to get away: There was not much to do for youngsters and I doubt it is much different in that regard today. But now I would love to live there again if only I could afford to. It's a beautiful village, lots happening for non-youth, and some lovely if expensive shops and places to eat and drink!

We walked lots in the woods for which the town is named,  bought lunch from a little deli/bakery and ate it on a bench and looked in some of the shops. I bought one second hand book!

I saw just one person I know - a daughter of a friend of my Dad's. She's done very well for herself and, two years younger than me she is now retired and living back in the village with her husband. She helps occasionally in a charity shop and does the odd bit of consultancy work. It was good to see her again, we used to get along quite well back in the day and I'm glad that everything worked out so well for her. I was too embarrassed to say that I'm still skivvying in a chippy though!

My photo is the yarn bomb of poppies and an RAF plane outside St. Peter's Church. We took lots of photos in the woods and of various other sights about the village too. It was a good day out!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.