Autumn Leaves

This was taken this morning on the way to my Dad's - a phone shot of course! I'd intended to take my proper camera but I was running late and could not find its case in the time I had to look for it.

My Dad was OK, if not in a great mood. I know he would like me to go over more often but I struggle to fit everything in already. He was saying that the lady next door, Mabel has visitors every day. But her family is massive! She has many siblings, she and they all have large families of their own. They are all very local and live in each other's pockets. We are far, far fewer in number and more scattered in every sense of the word!

Anyhow I did some shopping, cooking, cleaning and a bit of tidying. The place is slowly starting to look like a tip again. The idea was to get someone in to clean a couple of times a week so that someone is there most days, but since the big declutter in order that this could happen, no-one has been back in touch to discuss the next step. They probably won't unless I chase them up, even though it was requested on the initial form. Every service seems understaffed, under funded and over-subscribed these days...

Home to watch some more World Cup Rugby League now. England beat Greece in the first game, 96-4. Very one-sided! Any less would have been a poor result for England. Just being there is a good result for Greece however - until just a couple of months or so ago the sport was banned in Greece, and you could be arrested for playing. There are 10 men's teams and three women's, and they would play late at night in poorly lit conditions . Several of the players come from these amateur teams and some are NRL players of Greek descent.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.