Looks like meles is right

When meles and DaveH were here a little while ago, and I acquired the missionary plant, I asked meles about the poinsettia which I bought before Christmas last year, looked after carefully, and then repotted in June. It’s been going fine since repotting, with loads of new growth, but all green leaves. I read somewhere that it was an annual, so I wondered if that was it - it just stayed green.

Meles, wise woman of plants and many other things, suggested that it was triggered by the changing of the seasons, and that if it lived somewhere where there was natural light and not too much artificial light, it might be encouraged to change in response to the reducing natural light. So I popped it on the kitchen windowsill, where it takes up almost all the space, because it’s grown so much. The kitchen is quite a lot darker than the living room in the evenings once the light it out. I checked it earlier this week, and sure enough there’s a small number of leaves either growing, or changing to red. Enough change to get me blipping it today. So, thank you, meles, for the excellent advice.

As I explained to my hairdresser earlier on (a bit of #selfcare on a difficult day), this sort of little win gives me inordinate pleasure. And if I wasn’t blipping this, I’m really not sure what I would be blipping, as when I went to the hairdresser it was so wet I was dripping when I arrived, despite wearing my most waterproof coat.

Anyway, I’m taking tomorrow off, but I will back at it full on on Sunday. Plans to take the whole weekend off have definitely been shelved.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.