Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Nature notes

Up to Morn Hill again this morning, hoping to see the magnificent buzzard.  Right at the beginning of the walk s/he was circling above my head (I thought - but thanks to Lozarithm - below - I now know this is a red kite.  Confused?  Yes, so am I, but thank you, L).

Whatever, there was I, hand-holding the camera, looking up and turning as the kite did.  I got so dizzy I nearly fell over.  Perhaps just as well that before it happened a crow came along to chase the kite off.  I got a shot of that too, but not good enough quality.  To be honest, I'm not sure this is either, but you have to start somewhere!

And why those clawsful of yellowing grass?  I'm guessing there might be a small vole in there somewhere and the herbage was just collateral damage, unless you have a better idea.

What else did I see?  Three butterflies, two of them red admirals and one peacock (which last I did get shots of while standing in a bramble patch).  There were also a surprisingly number of wildflowers - rather small and only in ones and twos, but I saw:
ragwort
hawkweed
dandelion
harebells
bellflowers
marjoram
field scabious
herb robert
..and possibly one or two more which I can't remember.  Quite an interesting haul for the end of October.

Hope your weekend's going well and you have a good Sunday  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.