Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

The death of summer

Wild autumnal weather today.  Woke to rain and high winds which became sun and fairly high winds.  Leaves have been blowing everywhere (so have peoples' dustbins!).

Having scoped out which local doorsteps have the best pumpkin heads, I was intending to get a blip after dark, but to be honest the last two years have left their mark and I really can't gather the enthusiasm.  Perhaps I'm getting old.

I picked up this (I'm guessing youngish) rabbit skull on Morn Hill a couple of weeks ago, so hopefully my blip is slightly on message for today, but really I blipped it because I find it fascinating and beautiful.  The bone is so precise and at the same time so delicate and lacey.  You're looking at the roof of the rabbit's mouth, with the cranium on the right (obvs).

Will Hallowe'en kids be knocking doors tonight?  I really can't tell.  If they don't come we'll have rather a lot of sugar and chocolate on the menu over the next couple of days ;))

Thank you for being so kind to yesterday's red kite.  Thanks also to Marlieske for continuing to host Derelict Sunday.  And happy celebrations.  I hope your week starts well  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.