Bingo

I’m so glad we have Scotland’s People for family history searching! We’d have struggled and spent waaaay more if there were English ancestors as you can’t get any clues from their records you have to order a certificate at £11 quid a pop!

That’s what we did a week ago for this recently discovered son of my grandmother (when she was 21 and three months into her marriage with my grandfather ). Unlike the Scottish search you can’t see the parents so we took a punt on the name and date time. He also had a second marriage when he changed his surname officially to Mullarky in 1967.

When this certificate arrived on Friday did more investigations on line with electoral rolls and found he lived in Manchester in the early 2000s . Lo g story short I found on Facebook a potential granddaughter called Katie and messaged her. She messaged me back and said her dad was a son of Thomas Mullarky! He was in Spain on hols but she would speak to him. It’s crazy that we have another offshoot in the family tree!!!

Observation - why is it only the father that is mentioned in the marriage certificate?? On our marriage certificates both parents are listed !

Today the weather was monsoon conditions and I cancelled my appointment in Cupar I had.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.