PINKTOBER PASSES IN A PLETHORA OF PINK!

I decided yesterday that I didn’t want to do another “silly“ blip to finish off Pinktober, but a reasonably serious one - given the  general theme of Breast Cancer Awareness Month. I have managed to find something pink for every day in October, but have to say that I am now “pinked out”! 

I decided yesterday that I wanted to use some of Mr. HCB’s chrysanthemums all around my hat – cue for a song there I think – so when the rain stopped yesterday afternoon I went out and collected some.  Of course, this is not just any old hat, this is my ladies Tilley hat, so I hope you like it.  

The rain first thing this morning was of biblical proportions, and I wondered if I would ever get out into the garden but after about half an hour, the rain stopped and I decided that was my moment. I put on my pink gilet over my pink jumper, underneath which was - you don’t want to know - but it was all pink! 

I made my way over the soggy grass so that I could stand in front of our seemingly-everlasting pale pink Cosmos flowers, with some darker pink ones in the background then, using my trusty selfie stick, took lots of photographs, only to realise that I was wearing no pink lippie, so I had to put that on and then take more photographs. What a pink palaver.  Anyway, I hope you like my final Pinktober shot.

Here are a few statistics about breast cancer:

Eight out of 10 cases of breast cancer are diagnosed in women aged 50 and over. 

One-quarter of cases are diagnosed in women aged 75 and over.

Just over 10,000 women are diagnosed with breast cancer under the age of 50 every year in the UK. Of these, around 7,600 women will be in their 40s.

Around 2,300 women in the UK are diagnosed aged 39 or under, or just 4% of all cases.

Breast cancer in men is rare with just 370 new cases in the UK each year, compared to around 55,000 new cases in women.

Almost nine in ten (85%) of women survive breast cancer for five years or more.

Breast cancer survival is improving and has doubled in the past 40 years in the UK due to a combination of improvements in treatment and care, earlier detection through screening and a focus on targets, including faster diagnosis.

An estimated 600,000 people are alive in the UK after a diagnosis of breast cancer. This is predicted to rise to 1.2 million in 2030. 

So, for all my friends who have fought and won the battle with cancer and for those still fighting hard, I salute you - and for all those reading this PLEASE continue to click on this LINK, so that those who cannot afford to pay for a mammogram may have one free.  Many thanks - you have all been amazing.  M xx 

 “Cancer is messy and scary. 
     You throw everything at it, 
          but don’t forget to throw love at it;  
               it turns out that might be 
                    the best weapon of all.” 
Regina Brett

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.