PINKTOBER - DAY 31 - ALL PINKED OUT!

Today is the last day of Pinktobering and what better way to spend it than to meet Blip friends and go out in a "Plethora of Pink"?  Because we were down in North Devon, I got in touch with suejay50 and Terrifo to ask if there was any chance of a Blipmeet and they were both up for it.

We travelled down to Woolacombe yesterday and arranged to meet both of them at a garden centre about 20 minutes from where we were staying and then we were going on to the RHS Garden at Rosemoor.  However, I was concerned that they wouldn't recognise me, so told them that I would be wearing pink so that they would have no trouble in knowing it was me!  When Mr. HCB heard me saying this, he just said that he would be walking six steps behind - how rude is that?

We set off from our hotel with Mrs. Satnag giving us directions - but before we had gone too far up Challacombe Hill, we realised that this was going to be a "hairy" journey.  When your car is almost touching both sides of a narrow country lane and there is grass growing all down the middle of the lane, it sort of gives you the impression that you are in for an exciting ride and we weren't wrong.  We met many cars and some very large lorries, but thankfully, there were passing places so we either had to reverse or make sure they did.  

We were pleased to get to the garden centre in one piece and when I got out of the car, I rang Terrifo to let her know we had arrived, as it was about ten minutes after our prearranged meeting time.  She was obviously most amused when she first saw me and I can't imagine why - because after all, I did tell her I would be wearing pink!!

She said that Sue was inside and invited us in to have a cup of coffee and cake before our next journey to Rosemoor, so in we went and several people stopped to admire laugh at my choice of clothing.  However, I did tell them it was for Breast Cancer Awareness Month, so I was let in with no trouble!

We quickly found Sue, who was also quite amused and said she hoped I had brought some of the Silly Saturday Gang.  Well, I had - but only six of them.  Reeth, who has been very good helping me all month,  Penny Penguin, because she likes the sea, Sid because he thought he might be able to give someone a donkey ride on the beach, Laura Lamb and BabyJay who hadn't seen the sea before and of course, last but not least, JH Ted, who was the very first member of this auspicious Gang.  

Just as we got to the entrance, Sue or Terri - I can't remember which one, pointed out the very large pumpkin seat and we thought it would be a good idea to sit on there and have our photograph taken.  You can see that Terri, on the right, is wearing a pink jacket and tee shirt and Sue is wearing a pink scarf, has a pink top to her walking pole and also a pink bag.  

We draped the members of the Silly Saturday Gang around all of us and I have to confess hat Mr. HCB took the photograph - I know it should have been me, but I don't think I could have held the camera steady for long enough because we were laughing so much - and much amusement was shown by those walking into the garden centre.

We had a wonderful time, although it was a shame that we had had a large breakfast so we couldn't manage a cake, but are very grateful to Terri for the coffee and it did come with a free biscuit.

It was great chatting to them both and it was as if we had known them for ever - the Blip community is like that, isn't it?  With Terri and Mr. HCB chatting on one side of the table, Sue and I chatting on the other side and then we all chatted together, so before we knew it, it was time for us to carry on to RHS Rosemoor. 

I'm sure we may come down to meet them again, and they were happy for me to use this shot as my Blip for today - but I have also made an extra collage, all the photographs for which I DID take at Rosemoor, including a selfie of Mr. HCB and me, with some pink roses in the background, so hope I will be forgiven for my misdemeanour - but as you all know, Mr. HCB is ALMOST a Blipper - and as he told Sue, he is a Blip model!  I'm sure when Simonslife, another Blip friend, sees this, he will be glad he was working and not able to be with us - perhaps another time!

You all know what to do by now - please finish off this wonderful Pinktober month by clicking this LINK;  you can still click after this and if you do, it will be much appreciated by those who cannot afford to pay for a mammogram.  You have all been SIMPLY THE BEST but I must confess, I'm looking forward to a month without pink!

“Keep something beautiful
     in your heart
          to survive difficult times
               and enjoy good times.”
John O’Donohue : Anam Cara - A Book of Celtic Wisdom

P.S.  Many thanks for all your kind comments, stars and hearts for yesterday's Blip of my dear Mother-in-law - all of which were much appreciated - sorry not to comment back but hopefully I will get back to it by the end of the week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.