I'm getting a bit old...

...for these late nights.  We had a lovely evening with delicious food. We provided a starter, Livia (Italian) fixed the pasta course and the main meal, and another guest Jurgen, had made Tiramisu. Roger was the evening's wine waiter and barista. Eventually we moved out of the kitchen and onto the softer chairs and the conversation flowed until we realised it was around 2 o'clock in the morning. Of course we carried on chatting a good bit longer and when Jan and I arrived in our camper I was able to watch my phone  hop from 2:59:59 to...     02:00, as clocks all over Europe went back from summertime.
We'd worried about being cold in our bed (it was about 5°C in the van) but my main problem turned out to be that I was too warm.
About 9 a.m. we returned to Livia and Roger's for breakfast but we were all feeling a bit jaded. I'm sure that was the result of the clocks changing, and nothing to do with the alcohol consumed the night before.  As we drove home later in the day we were both feeling tired and it seemed to be getting dark very early. Thick cloud, mist and drizzle didn't help either. The blip wqs taken as we drove across the Indal River Delta at 2:30 and while it definitely wasn't dark you can see the car lights are shining brightly.  Winter is definitely coming!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.