Dreich?

When I joined Blipfoto, with it's many members in Scotland, I swiftly learned a word that was new for me - dreich.  Fortunately I don't get many chances to use it here in mid-Sweden, because the weather is rarely dreich. However, today was one of the days when I could use it.  No sun, no wind, no long distance views, lots of mist, light drizzle drizzling down now and again.
Eventually we took ourselves out into the garden. I was preparing a new flower bed, which Jan will use for bulbs. Jan was planting bulbs in another part of the garden.  It wasn't cold, about 6°C, and it was actually fine to be outside and digging, or collecting leaves. We kept working until it got dark, at about 4 o'clock.
I spent the evening in town, at the Left Party office, with a small group who are interested in making films. We are thinking of making some films for the local election and tonight we watched a lot of election films from different parties at different levels - local, regional, and national. That's probably some people's idea of a nightmare but we found them interesting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.