pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

The sickness and renaissance of the youngest

Got an early night as there was a fair amount of sleep to catch up on, but was unceremoniously ripped from it in the early hours by the sound of The Youngest throwing up again, the poor thing.

This is hands-down the worst, most unforgiving and prolonged sickness bug I have ever seen any of my offspring subjected to. I can’t believe how well The Youngest is dealing with it, remaining calm and pragmatic throughout. If it were me, I’d be demanding round the clock scantily-clad nursing (would be nice if some of the nurses were female) and when things got really bad, requesting the last rites be administered forthwith and a benefit concert to be set up in my name with the request that Ed Sheeran not be asked to perform.

Fortunately, as the day has worn on, she has improved markedly, aided in no small part to a rehydration sachet dropped in her water (thank you, Beedey for the suggestion and mother for the purchasing), the nibbling of a few small, plain biscuits and of course, a cheeky hug from her grandad. The colour has returned to her face and the cheekiness to her character. Thanks for your nice comments and concern yesterday.

I’ve bah-humbugged it again in terms of Halloween. I’m sorry, I just don’t like this whole trick or treating malarkey. How can we tell children in one breath not to accept treats from strangers and then in the next, dress them up and march them off to strangers houses to ask for them?! Does that seem mental to anyone else?!!

Anyway, West Ham won 4-1 today, I have a tube of jelly beans to demolish (thanks for that too, s’mother mother) and hopefully a good film to watch in Free Guy, which I didn’t realise was available without additional cost on Disney+!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.