Better than yesterday!

I made an effort in the kitchen today after yesterday’s Halloween lurid spinach sludge.

For the first time in 18 months we had 2 couples actually in the house. We all did LF tests and it was great fun.

I did make an effort with the food and Mr C kept glasses topped up. I had some pastry left so used it up by putting a bit of anchovy and cheese on it, and also made some tapenade which I put on toasted sourdough to have with pre-dinner drinks.

Next was a platter of manchego with chilli jam, figs and blue cheese and cream sauce, fried padron peppers, and the last of our courgettes and pear.

Main course was a small baked potato, a tart with a homemade tomato sauce, roast butternut squash and onion and feta, a roasted aubergine and pickled red onion dish and the greens were stir fried cavelo nero with a splash of soy sauce and chilli.

Pudding was a panettone bread and butter pudding with homemade marmalade.

Eventually the were up for cheese and port.

I’m glad I can remember how to cook for friends even if it did take all day. I enjoyed it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.