Marionb

By Marionb

Thinking Winter....

Not an easy thing welcoming in November....makes me think of winter, especially when the weatherman mentioned  "snow flurries" as being a possibility later this week...

The day began with the annual fall inspection of my furnace - one of those preparation-for-winter rituals; tomorrow I get my snow tires on... 

Then it was a trip to the dump to drop off all the junk I cleaned out of my storage shed to make room for winter storage of all the garden paraphernalia...

Then I picked up a Christmas gift I had ordered for a friend...is it no wonder I am thinking winter? 

It was a cold and very windy day too - so that didn't help. By late afternoon, I was thinking I had better get up off the sofa and go down to the lake before it freezes over for the winter....haha  ...I jest...it never does..it is a Great Lake - too huge to freeze!  But still, I needed some fresh air and the air down there was indeed fresh!  And one needed to be bundled up - down jacket, toque, gloves...Oh how quickly those memories of shorts, T-shirts and sandals are fading...

Once again, the wind was whipping up some nice waves for me...they were hypnotizing..rolling and crashing on the beach...The sun even peeked out for a few moments and lit up the water enough to get some photos...but it was cold, so my visit there was rather short and I was soon on my way home to sit by the fire. Time to plan some indoor projects...as winter is indeed coming...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.