A BIT OF HISTORY

Last week as I passed through the allotments I noticed that one of the allotment holders had done a bit of digging alongside his hedge.  And this small piece of glass caught my eye.  So I took it home and cleaned it up. Thought that it might do for a Tiny Tuesday blip.    There's not much of the name on the glass but I did some online Googling to find that its part of a bottle made by Dowson Brothers in Gateshead who were around in the 1880's and 1890's.  They were manufacturers of mineral water as well as ale and porter merchants. So I guess this piece of glass has been buried for quite some time and has suddenly popped up to the surface in 2021.  Thanks to Sheol for hosting Tiny Tuesday this month.

Last week I got a letter from the Dermatology Dept at the RVI hospital in Newcastle.  I was referred to dermatology over 2 years ago and this is the first I've heard from them.  They gave me 3 options.  Stay on the waiting list for the RVI - there might be a long wait for an appointment if I opted for this.  Or I could attend one of the outreach clinics for a quicker appointment.  Among the locations offered were Alnwick, Cramlington or Berwick.  None of them are really suitable for me to get to on public transport -  especially if I was offered an early morning appointment.  The last option was to be taken off the waiting list altogether.  I did think about the last option quite seriously but decided that as I was still having problems I would  like to be seen ... and at the RVI.  I replied to let them know my decision.  I was prepared for a long wait .... but I had a phone call today offering me an appointment at the RVI on Thursday morning.  Quite a surprise. 

The weather today was dry and very sunny... but cold.  I stayed indoors until it was time to go to Slimming Club.  Lost half a pound this week.  Not much but its an improvement on the last 2 weeks when I gained weight.  I stayed for the meeting afterwards.  Another  2 new members joined this week.

Steps today - 7,692

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.