pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Key of life

I sold my keyboard yesterday.

When originally purchased in/inbetween various lockdowns last year, it seemed like a good purchase. Something to keep me focussed, a break from screens and I was certain that within just a few short weeks, I was destined to be Kendal’s answer to Lin-Manuel Miranda and that I would be writing and producing my own hip-hop rockpera by the end of the year.

The reality was that I could just about plinky-plonk my way through Puff the Magic Dragon and was startled to discover that in order to learn an instrument you really have to have the discipline to apply yourself and practice on a regular basis. Despite the encouragement of an excellent piano tutor, the instrument went by the wayside and sat there largely unused, unloved quickly becoming an object of guilt every time I looked at it. 

I was delighted then when Russ mentioned that he was looking to get back into playing the piano. An accord was struck and he collected the keyboard this evening. In its place will go a nice, personal non-work-related desk where I can escape from the children, reflect on the world and practice writing on the big questions of the day: who will win Bake-Off? Is it time to start getting the fire on of an evening? Has quality hair transplant technology become affordable to insurance brokers yet? 

Sorry for another picture of the river. Outside of getting another Biscoff cheesecake prepped, it was the only interesting thing I did today, but did involve a nice walk and chat even if it was at the only point it rained today!!


P.S. Thank you for all your good wishes on The Youngest who has bounced back exceptionally quickly! I’ve been a bit lax in catching up with what you’ve been doing lately, but I’ll get my act together. Soon. At some point.

Probably.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.