From the castle, Bamburgh

Taken between downpours! Another day where we didn't venture far. Jon had booked tickets for us to visit Bamburgh Castle today. Glad we decided against the boat to the islands, because in today's weather I'd have had my head in a bucket the whole time. As it was, we wanted to walk, but as we left the front door it poured down. So we got in the car, but by the time we were half way to the castle it had stopped. Not wanting to pay a fortune for parking, we went back home and walked. It was blowy, but dry. Hardly any distance, and once at the castle we wandered the grounds and battlements. We went in and out of various museums inside the museum grounds. Lots of war aircraft remains. When we came out of the last one, the weather had changed and we got soaked moving back to the main building so we ducked into the tearoom and had a cup of tea. Then it dried up and we spent the next hour in the state rooms inside the main castle building. The first time we have been back since Manda and Bruce's wedding there in 2002. I remembered some of it. Such a lovely venue.

Wandered back home for a late lunch, and then watched TV etc all afternoon.

I started a short story this week. Just 500 words. I saw the competition in the writers magazine, but short writings is not really me! It was a challenge though, so I thought worth a try. I finished it this evening. It is OK, but not sure if I will enter the competition with it - you have to pay to enter any writing competitions. But I will think about it. Something I need practice at.

Tomorrow we are going to be out all day, then heading home Friday. Its been a lovely relaxing break.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.