Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Isolating in the woods

My day started with a PCR Covid test at Hexham General. I'm now in isolation until my appointment with the urologist on Friday.

I decided that the best place to go to be away from everyone else was in Gilsland Woods. I walked from the village by the River Irthing to the woods that lead to the (former) Gilsland Spa Hotel. That's the building that was used as a maternity unit during WWII and Maureen (Haltwhistle) was born there.

There is a wonderful wood under the care of the Woodland Trust. I wandered through it and marvelled at the colours of the autumn leaves and the many ferns and fungi.

Then I walked up the steep path towards the hotel and back down to my car. Arth, who has been keeping quiet for ages, suddenly developed severe pain. Usually walking rids him of pain, but not today. I hobbled back to the car and home to painkillers and a welcome icepack. I hope things have settled by tomorrow.

These fungi are on the side of a tree trunk. I found it hard to choose an image for today because I liked too many!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.