Flypast

It was a cold and frosty morning and the sun rising was melting all the frosty patches.  I nipped into the garden with the velvet 85 on the camera to see if I could find anything useful.  'Not really' is the short answer!  Whilst pointing the lens close to a frosty leaf on the lawn I heard the unmistakable honking of geese flying over.  I looked up to see them in their traditional formation, swiftly adjusted camera settings, including manual focus and manage a couple of reasonable shots!  An extra shows the 85's passable macro setting on Henry's ear - focus is only possible at very close range for this feature.  It's a versatile lens.

Yesterday evening I re-joined a choir I was with ahead of lockdown.  We are performing J.S.Bach's Magnificat in December, along with a few other motets.  All good stuff!  Great to be singing with the group again and catch up with friends - all good musicians and strong singers.  Later today I spent some time on youtube as we were encouraged to listen to performances of the Mag and sing along.  Singing along would be tricky as I could never manage the speed at which those pro-choirs tackle the long semi-quaver runs, for which Bach is well-known!  All choir people will be 'nodding knowingly' at this point!
Many bangs and whistles outside this evening. I don't know where Henry is, but he will be tucked away somewhere and appear soon for his supper.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.