Marionb

By Marionb

In Search of Colour

Another day that started out with frost and more leaves falling....Time for glorious colour is running out! Better get out with the camera and capture some of it before it is gone! 

I had to wait though...it is cleaning day here and although my cleaning lady prefers that I be out of the house, I needed her this morning and she needed me..There are some cleaning chores that require two and I had promised to help; and I needed a helping hand to get that glass table top in from the deck and stored in the basement. 

Of course the glass top was covered in ice which made it just a bit challenging..pouring water on it did not help - it just froze... but eventually we de-iced it and maneuvered it into the house and down the stairs and now it is safe indoors until next spring. 

At last, it was time to grab my iPhone and go. 

By the time I got down to the conservation area to take some photos, there were a lot of other folks around too. The sun had come out and it was really a lovely day to be walking through the woods, feeding birds and snapping photos...It was quite a busy place. Methinks others were also realizing that there are not too many days like this left.. 

Autumn has moved on considerably since I was there just a few days ago. The paths are now carpeted in leaves..there is less colour overhead...the brilliant reds are no longer brilliant.....there is still yellow and some orange,  but I am glad I went today and was able to capture what colour there was left, because soon there will be none...

Scraping frost off the windshield has become a morning ritual now..and on the morning weather report, that four-letter word "snow" is being mentioned more and more often, along with "chance of"..So far, so good, but we won't be spared that for much longer, so better enjoy what autumn colour we still have now!

PS: when I got home I was checking blipfoto postings and Honeycombebeach had a link on her Wednesday blip to My Passion for Trees by Judy Bench. What perfect timing! Trees were on my mind, so I dropped everything and watched it..I was entranced...it was wonderful...the perfect ending to today's photo outing. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.