Maureen6002

By maureen6002

Curlew on Mudbank

Today’s blip is definitely a curlew, but even as I write, I’m unsure whether to feature this one flying or strutting. Whichever one I eventually choose, sighting this beauty has been an unexpected pleasure. 

It’s been a generally foul day yet again, this morning’s sunshine short-lived and long-forgotten by the time we head out for a walk through the reserve. It’s already raining lightly, and the dark clouds promise worse to come. Sure enough, we’re soon battling through heavy precipitation, the strong winds blowing from the estuary making life even more unpleasant. 

Then suddenly, the rain subsides, and a weak sun actually penetrates the cloud cover. There’s still a wind, but this is so much better. I’ve almost given up seeing any bird life along the river - particularly as the tide is high, when suddenly I spot a loan curlew pottering along the mud banks. The air is full of wind-blown copper jewels, and fallen leaves land on the mud, gleaming in the sunlight. I watch my curlew strutting back and forth, beak plunging now and then deep down for tasty morsels. Eventually, either he tires if this stretch of the riverbank, or he spots me photographing him; either way, he takes flight up river - just as well, as I’m not sure I’d ever tear myself away. 

I should have posted earlier, but it’s been the final evening of my sister’s visit before she returns to Spain - not to mention rugby and Strictly. Although Wales lost, it’s good to see a far better performance than last week - though frustrating we couldn’t hold of South Africa in the second half. 

And now I can procrastinate no longer, my decision is to post my curlew just as he takes off, mud splashing round his feet and coated round  his beak. The extra shows him strutting on the mudbank. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.