pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Present

I had an early night last night, thinking that I could catch up on some much-needed sleep, but still woke up early. 

I think I was quite excited to get going as having sold the keyboard earlier this week, I had immediately invested the funds in a desk and chair for my bedroom. I wanted to get my old desktop computer out and have some personal space to sit and write. ie. no work stuff around me. Hence, I was up and at ‘em early doors and getting my flatpack construction skills on. Pretty chuffed with the results actually and thought I would capture the results whilst it was still tidy in the extra before the desk/chair combo becomes a receptacle for clothes and junk.

Also treated myself to a nice new elephant lamp (which I hope isn’t as rubbish as it sounds) and then having exerted myself enough, I sat and watched the Manchester derby marvelling at the gulf between the red and blue sides of the footballing rivalry. Feeling relaxed, I got my head down for a little while and then later on, headed back out to pick up something for tea with a friend as we sat and watched Strictly, commenting with authority (despite having no dance training - formal or otherwise) on where the celeb dancers head gone wrong!

It was on the wander out that I snapped the war memorial and the soldier, who from this angle appeared to be heading for or looking at the present. There's probably a metaphor or simile in there somewhere, but I am too tired to extract it.

A very nice Saturday, but I am shattered and looking forward to a lazy Sunday and resting up some more.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.