JM Waxing

This is a relatively recent addition to Leith Walk. The sort of shop I would *never* ever use. But quite striking in the dark.

I had to walk home today, as I did the classic pensioner's bus move this morning. A number 10 from out of Bonnington Road (because it arrived as I went past the stop, so why not) and then onto a waiting number 14 at Elm Row. In to work with absolutely minimal walking. So I compensated by walking home. In fact the meeting I went in for was postponed until next week, so I could have stayed at home to help Mr A with receiving some different sets of decorators who came round to look at the job. We are now making progress towards that end. One promised he could start tomorrow, but I have a bit of a suspicion that he might be a wind up merchant, as he's yet to send me a properly costed estimate. The others, who would do it next week, have done. Anyway, to return to the previous theme, walking home allowed me to get a blip and to add to my #leithwalkshops collection. It's actually quite unusual for me to photograph a Leith Walk shop in the dark, so there's also a novelty value to this.

I'm feeling properly tired this evening. I was up at 5am writing some stuff that needed to be done. I've almost finished a huge job. Just one more push tomorrow. And then I need to move on to the next big job, which involves giving students some feedback on their ideas. I think that will be considerably more enjoyable. But once that's done, there'll be yet another big job on the horizon. So that's why I'm overall quite glad that there are only three more teaching sessions until Christmas, and one of those is being run by a colleague. Christmas will be a time when I sleep and sit staring into the middle distance, attempting to recuperate. It'll be nothing fancy for me. Meanwhile, for reasons that were not clear to me because I wasn't listening hard, but just using it as background in order to make me walk faster, the Peloton outdoor class I was listening to on my headphones on the way home encouraged me to embrace my "inner manager". I laughed out loud. It's not my inner manager I'm having to embrace at the moment, but the outer one...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.