An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

White ramps and two jags...

Backblipped 10.11.21


After our late night we all had a bit of a leisurely start to the day.  

David and Adrian took Lola a walk to the woods at the Cloan Estate.  It was a lovely morning and I think it helped blow the cobwebs away.  Emily and Sam went for a swim (Sam has a very mild form of cerebral palsy which causes pain in his back and left leg so the warmth of the pool brought him some relief.)  Meanwhile I, miraculously still almost pain free, put a large cushion on a kitchen chair and risked sitting on that in order to chat to Agnes and get brunch started.

The guys came back from their walk in time to get the table set and make tea and coffee and we were dishing up a full Scottish breakfast (well lunch :-) just as Emily and Sam emerged from the pool room.

Although my pain levels were much reduced I knew there was no way I could do a photo shoot so we agreed that Emily and Sam would come back and have lunch another day and we I could take the photos then.  

After lunch we sat and chatted about their wedding plans.  The date of the wedding is 18th August 2023 (that's the earliest they could get the venue they wanted as it was booked up with all the postponements from the lockdowns.)

We also asked Sam's advice on what iMac to replace our current machine with (Sam works for Apple)  He was able to give us a good explanation of the benefits of each model and match one to our needs, then announced he would be able to apply his friends and family discount to the purchase, which means a saving of about £250!  

They all left just after 4pm.  I took two Ibuprofen (deliberately didn't take any this morning as don't want to take them more than once a day) and just after 5pm we headed out to the car (yay I managed to get in the car!!) to go to Perth to get our flu jabs.  We were hoping to get our covid boosters at the same time but the letter said it had to be 24 weeks since our second vaccination.  We reckoned it was 24 weeks and one day.  We were right and got our booster too.

When we arrived at the venue, because he isn't able to wear a mask, Alan (and his support worker) were taken to a room on their own for Alan to receive his jabs.  David and I were herded into the main hall.  Thank heavens I have my electric wheelchair Buzz, as without him there is no way I could have walked the distance from the car park to the vaccine station.

I was seen by a very lovely nurse who kindly enquired if I could be pregnant.  She either needs her eyes testing as I look about 100 this week, or perhaps my food baby is more convincing than I realise!  Anyway, I put her right and she proceeded to give me my flu jab in my right arm and my covid booster in my left.  Didn't feel a thing with the covid jab but the flu one stung a bit going in.

Met back up with David in the waiting area where we sat for the required 15 mins (Alan had already headed home) before stopping off for a Chinese takeaway (we felt we deserved it :-)) on the way home.

Second evening I was able to get to bed without squealing in pain.  I really hope I have turned a corner and the sciatica is starting to fade.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.