Along the Slough

Sunrise took me by
surprise. I turned away just 
at the wrong moment!

~ carliewired

I looked out at a rather grim sky just before 7 AM. Then, I got busy making coffee. Suddenly, there was sunlight pouring into my house. I got the surprise view through my kitchen window looking through the locust trees at my mountains. That got me moving out the door! 

I picked up my breakfast at the drive-thru and took it to McArthur Island Park. It's a very quiet morning. We have a statutory holiday for our Remembrance Day. I did wear a poppy briefly, but it doesn't stay in my fleece jacket for long. 

I parked near the Butterfly Garden to walk back along the path to the north entrance. The mallards were the only waterfowl I could see there today. I took peeks into the water through the trees. The water level is so low now that it is dry under the foot bridge. There is still a bit of colour in the slough. Some bright leaves remain and there's red berries clinging to bare branches. 

I had a chat with a walker I know. She was happy to tell me she's just bought an electric car. Another walker was scrambling in the bushes to retrieve a piece of wire fencing. She explained that she was going to take it to the other side of the island to protect a tree from the beavers. I had noticed a lot of beaver damage there before. 

It is turning into a lovely day here. That was not in the forecast so I take it as a bonus. There will be a ceremony at the cenotaph at 11 AM. It should be well attended if the weather is favourable. 

Our high elevation highway, the Coquihalla, received a big dump of snow with more expected today. 

We can expect a mix of sun and cloud today with a high of 8 C. The warning of snow flurries has now been lifted from the forecast. Can you hear me cheering? 

It's another day at home with fabric and a chance of meatballs.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.