Peak autumn

We wandered up to the weir and back this morning - the first time that Mr A had been up that way in a while. Although my Achilles’ tendon and calf are no longer giving me gyp, I don’t feel quite 100% at the moment, which is evidenced by relatively poor performances on the spinning bike (peloton stats are all too much), slow walking (plodding) speeds, a bit of coughing and a heaviness in my lungs. Nothing as much as illness, but possibly a slight infection. I did a Covid test at the end of last week, and it was negative.

I’ve worked for much of the rest of the day, returning feedback to students, and reading various documents that need to be prepared for meetings later this week. I still don’t feel like I’m up to speed for the coming week, but I am sure I will cope.

I did manage a decent 45 minutes on the spinning bike, but my fitness levels are not what they were in the summer, which is hardly surprising given pressure of work and also the mishap with my Achilles’ tendon. But I feel basically pretty much as fit as I need to be right now, and things aren’t going backwards too quickly. I hope to get a decent bout of training in over the Christmas holidays.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.