Capital adventures

By marchmont

Ladies lunched

An odd start day to the day involving R3, the Shipping Forecast, the National Anthem (Charles is 73), and then suddenly it was 8.20 and I was in the middle of a remembrance device from Wales. The in and out of sleep is quite disorientating.

Had some breakfast and typed lists for Choir and watched the Cenotaph. More harrowing stories from pilots who'd been in Afghanistan.

And then it was time for the Coffee Club does lunch, off to Restoration Yard. It wasn't as sunny a day as yesterday but still very mild for the time of year and still.

We ate and drank and shopped and walked as far as Go Ape. Once home I tidied the shed and the garage, fixed the garden shredder and found the tulip bulbs and some crocuses I thought I'd planted. And the pond pump is fine. I flushed it on clean water but I won't use it will next spring.

I'm beginning to panic because if I can go to KL in a few weeks I won't have done all the things I have to do. A deadline will be good for the soul. I quite liked lockdown (apart from the lack of hairdresser). It was much less stressful, nothing to worry about.

Tonight I did hibernation training with the curtains closed at 4.30, a take away and 4 episodes of 'Showtrial' back to back. Now I'm an episode ahead of the game. I'm still working on the necklace. The WD40 trick seems to have helped. But a bit more untangling to do.

Another bit of sad news today. Our longstanding family friend Findlay died yesterday. He was nearly 93. I was glad Mum and I saw him pre Covid.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.