Windmill 'De Korenbloem', Sommelsdijk

'Korenbloem' = 'Koren-BLOOM' = 'Cornflower'
'Sommelsdijk' = 'Sommels-DIKE'
De Korenbloem is slightly more than 300 years old, having been built in 1705.

Grey in the morning and then right after lunch the skies cleared... wonderful!  Plan A was a town along the A13, but after I had filled up the tank, I turned on the radio and heard about a traffic jam on the A16 which would have delayed me by at least 20 minutes, had I persisted, so I detoured and made up Plan B on the road.  The day was already cut short by the morning grey so I just made an obvious choice to catch the last light.  Had Sommelsdijk not worked, I would have driven on to Dirksland, but that would have made it really late.

While I was out, a guy came from the kitchen shop and realigned a couple of cabinet doors.  We hadn't noticed it on the day the kitchen was done, now a good six weeks ago, due to the excitement at the time, but when we did we knew we'd notice it every time, so that was finally fixed.  Still waiting for the tiles, though.  The DIY has already mailed the factory about the missed date.  A matter of waiting again.  And then I finally got my certificate for Ageing, a delay of three years, but well worth the wait.  Started another DNA-related course.  These are time-fillers.  In the evening, AW had online bridge, which is back now because of rising COVID statistics.  The district games have begun again.  They'd stopped when the players could meet for real, because of course it's more fun to play in person.  As we have already been doing for quite a long while now, we are coping.  I'm back to the strategy I adopted earlier this year -- I hardly follow the news, especially on television.  There's enough to get upset about as it is.  AW's physiotherapist is in quarantine again, for instance.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.