Maureen6002

By maureen6002

Of Shells and Shipwrecks

Apologies for not posting yesterday, but our WiFi in our delightful little hotel appears to be steam powered. I’ve managed a few comments, but each was taking so long I’m afraid I just gave up. Meanwhile, thanks so much for the lovely comments, hearts and stars for Wednesday’s little otter.

The weather gods have not been with us for our trip to Cleveleys this morning, and the walk along the prom in wind and drizzle is hardly inspiring. Of course I’m here to photograph the iconic Mary’s Shell sculpture, but these conditions are never going to present the sculpture at its best. The tide is on its way out - perhaps better planning could have got us there at the ‘right’ time, but I’m really not up for early starts right now. So it’s a case of making the best of what is there, and I try out a long exposure for the second time (my first extra of the Anthony Gormley sculpture was my first effort). I like the soft layers of the sea, but I’ve a way to go before I master this technique, and with the water so far out I actually prefer the angle I’ve achieved with my trusty iPhone. 

I find the wreck memorial further along the prom incredibly moving - so many ships wrecked along the Fylde coast, but in this weather we fail to complete the ‘Mythic Coast art trail. There will need to be a return visit, but meanwhile here’s a link https://broadbent.studio/the-mythic-coast

From here, the weather just gets worse, and when we arrive in Fleetwood, drizzle’s increased to actual rain. A walk along the marshes to find the wrecks lacks any kind of attraction, and the visibility is so poor that any thoughts of the conditions offering an ‘atmospheric’ shot seem over-optimistic. 

But then, miraculously, we spot slivers of blue sky. The rain stops and a watery sun emerges, so our marsh adventure is back on. In general, the route is less treacherous than I’d feared, but closer to the main wrecks, we’re walking hesitantly through slippery mud.  I set up my tripod - light still minimal - and take some shots. G wanders off in film director mode, and finds a far better vantage point - so off I trot, trailing camera equipment in my wake. By now the sun is setting behind us and the wrecks look stunning in the light. 

It’s only when I return to base that I realise somehow I’ve managed to smear watery mud on my lens, and my camera shots are ruined. Still, there’s the iPhone to fall back on, and so my main today is the wrecks in mono taken on my phone. In extras there is Mary’s Shell, a sunset wreck and a collage of the wreck memorial. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.