BLUE SKIES AND REFLECTIONS

UPDATE:  I've just been advised that this is my 1,095th Blip!!! --  3 YEARS OF BLIPPING - crikey where did that time go.  I am so glad that I found this site, thanks to Gladders and his lady wife, because I've made some lovely friends on here and it is a wonderful non-judgemental, friendly and inspirational site to be a member of.  THANK YOU ALL SO MUCH FOR ENRICHING MY LIFE.

I had to go into town first thing  this morning to get my spectacles seen too. They kept falling off, and so far I've managed to catch them but they were going to get stepped on if I wasn't careful.  As it turned out they couldn't do it right at that moment, which was a shame, but they're going to do it for me at 3.00 pm tomorrow afternoon - so that's great.

As I then unexpectedly had the day free and Hubby actually wanted to come out with me to so we popped up to Grasmere as I haven't been in a long time.  Quite a lot of people around but still not heaving.  I prefer visiting Grasmere in the winter months when it's quieter, but it's rather lovely all year round really 

Looks like the church in Grasmere is under renovation but after coffee we decided we would just have a walk along the shores of the Lake as it such a stunningly blue sky today.  I'd forgotten that it was quite a long walk outside of the village to get to the shores, but that was very enjoyable in itself.  Except for the sun actually blinding you some times, so we couldn't see anyone coming towards us.  Mind you that is not a complaint, it's a joy really.

We walked along most of the lake shore, met qite a few people but not too many.  Annoyingly twice I missed a fantastic shot, one of a jet zooming over the lake, and the second time an RAF bi-plane.  I was just at the wrong spot at those times - story of my life really.

As we got closer to the far shore we could see it was crowded so decided just to turn round and go back, and it was lovely having the sun behind us at that point because we saw all the things we'd missed.

A lot more  people joining the lake by now so it was a good time to leave.  Nice to see so many people enjoying the countryside though but was amazed at just how many holiday-makers there were around at this time of the year.

As Grasmere was now so busy we decided not to stop and just drive up towards Keswick and join the M6 to come home.  We actually stopped at The Traveller's Rest Inn just outside Grasmere and had a very lovely lunch.

It was a pleasant drive until we got cloes to Penrith and it took ages to cross over the bridge and join the M6, after that it was fine.

All in all a really lovely unexpected day out.  

I will process the remaining photos tonight and put a collage together to, hopefully, put in extras tomorrow.

Do take care out there everyone, covid is still around and rife, we are better protected we just need to be a bit cautious now that's all.

Stay safe and see you all tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.