HAVERTHWAITE VILLAGE

Lousy night's sleep so I slept in a little this morning and didn't get up until 9.00 a.m. - that is very late for me.

The weather was so lovely today that after breakfast, Hubby went up his allotment so I decided to go to Bardsea for a stroll.  

MISTAKE - it was heaving.  So I turned round and headed home, but decided to stop in Haverthwaite Village.  I've driven through so many times but never explored it before.  So I found a footpath right opposite where I was parked, with a waymark post saying one mile to "Friendly Cottage".  So I investigated.  

The Haverthwaite Steam Railway is quite a bit outside the village and on the opposite side of the A590 but that's obviously closed at the moment.  Haverthwaite is spread out over quite a large area so I only investigate the area I was parked in.  Must investigate further and round near the River Leven sometime too.

Don't know which one was Friendly Cottage but found a lovely house at the end of a track with a stony footpath going upwards, the name escapes me but it wasn't Friendly Cottage.  I found out later that there was also a footpath which went from here to Roudsea Woods and was 1.5 miles away.  as I didn't have my walking shoes with me it was too stony to go with my normal "hotter flatties" so will have investigate that another day maybe - if I can find specific directions.

I've put a collage in extras of some of the things I saw on my walk around.  You will notice a pump in the collage if you look carefully it has etched into it EB 65!!!! Well for me that stands for Emergency Blip - how did the pump know that I would be blipping it!!!?

Almost got squished by a young lady driving up an extremely narrow road to reach her home.  However we both acknowledged each other, I found a niche to squeeze into and she maneouvered around me.  We said hello and the I moved on.  Very civil and lovely.

I've just returned home for a spot of lunch.  I feel a little bit better now just obviously still concerned so having a nice gentle day today.

The blip is of what I think is a derelict shed but I just loved the way the light hit the moss on the walls.  I've discovered lately that I'm paying much more attention to fallen logs and mossy areas than I used to - that's a good thing isn't it!!???

EDIT: I've just discovered that this is my 730th BLIP - wow I've been blipping for two whole years now.  It's been such a great thing to do.  I've only missed a few days back when the pandemic first hit, otherwise I've blipped, or occasionally back-blipped, every day.  Such a friendly supportive site.  I thank you all for sharing your blips and visiting mine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.