Emily Davison, Suffragette

We had dental check ups in Morpeth today so I thought I’d check out this statue in the park. Emily Davison was arrested and imprisoned many times and during hunger strikes endured force-feeding 49 times. The statue by Robert Lonsdale shows her tipping food from her bowl. She was killed when attempting to put Suffragette colours on the King’s horse at the Epsom Derby. Huge crowds lined the route of her funeral procession in Morpeth in 1913. It wasn’t till 1928 that UK women got the same voting rights as men.

I had a phone consultation with a practice nurse. My blood tests show my cholesterol is 5.9 so I’m recommended to take statins and also my BP meds are being increased. Boo to all that but it’s preferable to a stroke.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.