Thanksgiving

It was sort of a tough day. In years past I would always host Thanksgiving for the family - I love to cook, especially for holidays. But that tradition has gradually fallen by the wayside as the family grew and grandchildren were born and the siblings and my son started their own traditions. Then it became difficult for mom and dad to leave their house so we all brought the holidays to them. Now, with dad’s passing earlier this year, things are really different. I took mom a light lunch midday and my brother came and picked her up - going to his mother-in-laws house. And we’re having a very quiet dinner, just the two of us. I could have gone there of course, but had absolutely no desire to do so. It fits my mood and there will be other years when new traditions may be born.

This lovely cyclamen emerges so marbled and beautiful from amongst the fall garden detritus…a metaphor for life if we choose to rise to the occasion. There is always another chapter.

Wishing you all a lovely day, should you celebrate this American tradition.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.