Cold and Dreary

Neither of us had to work today (although both of us did a bit) so we took advantage of the time to go for a walk in the Arboretum - our typical Sunday walk. It was cold and blustery and there were plenty of parking spaces today, even though I thought perhaps everyone would be walking on their day off! 

I came across this Magnolia - I think it's grandiflora, or Southern Magnolia  although I confess I didn't read the tag. I was struck by the numerous rosy fruit that covered the tree...isn't it gorgeous? It's typically a southern tree - an evergreen Magnolia which can grow to 90'. They do grow well here in our temperate climate. Apparently it grows in Britain as well, where it was introduced in 1726. 

The extra is a view of the Beech Grove at the Arboretum, the leaves now just about gone from the trees. 

Thanks so much for all of your very kind words yesterday - I'm struck again by what a lovely community this is...I'm very grateful to be a part of it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.