FLOWER FRIDAY - AND THE GARDENER

I thought for Flower Friday that I would blip the Agastache that is still blooming, but then saw how many flowers are also still blooming in our garden - and thought they deserved their fifteen minutes of fame on Blip too, so here they are.

In amongst all the flowers are Borage, various Chrysanthemums, Hollyhock Black Knight, various colours of Polyanthus, the purple Agastache, white Acanthus, Carnations, Tagetes, Queen of Sweden Rose, Salvia Black and Bloom, Viola Neptune and last but not least and still blooming, the gorgeous, fragrant Honeysuckle.  What a wonderful display for the last week in November.

Of course, I couldn’t make a lovely collage without letting you see the gardener, so in the middle is Mr. HCB - and you can see just at the side of his head that his halo has slipped a little!  He so enjoys his garden and I’m glad to say that his leg is much better but he says he will continue to be sensible and won’t go out into the garden today.  I might add that I do help out there occasionally too, but Mr. HCB does the main bulk of the gardening since my creaky knees stopped me from doing so much - thank goodness I have Blip to keep me out of mischief!  

We have just had a delivery of some wildflower seeds from a company called "Meadow In My Garden", which is a not-for-profit community interest company with meadow seed mixes specially designed for biodiversity in gardens and public green spaces.  It is based only a few miles down the road from us and we are excited about sowing the seeds - so watch this space for our meadow grass area next year.  As we have said before, we need to help our pollinators as  much as possible and this is our way of doing just that.

In other news, a friend asked if I had ever considered becoming a School Governor - I said I hadn’t but had always enjoyed going into a primary school to hear children read and reading to them.  I have just been for a visit to the school and think I may soon be a School Governor and a volunteer helping children with their reading.  Happy times ahead, I hope and it will be good to give something back to society.  

“When the world wearies 
     and society fails to satisfy, 
          there is always the garden.” 
Minnie Aumonier

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.