Something Different

An annual visit to the dermatologist, some botanical garden work, and finally a good long walk this afternoon. Still mild - 57F/13.9C - and really no more than a sprinkle in the forecast, at least for the week. 

I saw some fun things during my walk - this fungus not-withstanding. PlantSnap (an iPhone app) identifies it as Fuligo septica ("Septica" bringing to mind an appropriate vision) or Scrambled Egg Slime...or better yet, Dog Vomit Slime Mold. It looks a bit odd since it's on lichen that has fallen from the Deodar Cedar. Sort of pretty until I looked it up!

I also saw some snowdrops in a neighbor's yard, although I haven't seen mine emerge yet. It is awfully early, or so it seems. My theory is that plants are a bit thrown off because of the extraordinary hot summer. And even though we've had a good frost, it's now so mild that even the roses are still blooming (well some of them...not mine!) See my neighbor's lovely red rose in the extra!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.