Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Who is the April fool today?

No one really but the weather did play trickster.

It was sunny and fine here in Humshaugh; all the snow had gone. I set off to drive to Steel Rigg because I wanted a new photograph of the iconic view of Crag Lough. The one on the Haltwhistle Walking Festival home page is snowy and I thought it was time to change that as Spring arrives. I planned to walk from Steel Rigg to Winshields Crags. It's an easy gradual uphill on a good grassy path.

Of course there is still snow at this level. The wind from the East was bitterly cold. Our prevailing wind on Hadrian's Wall Trail is from the west, but not today.

Arth didn't like the easy path I'd chosen so we turned back. The views were lovely, but will not do to show Spring.

I met quite a few walkers and did my publicity bit. Some were polite, some very interested and one chap said he would definitely come.

On my way home, I stopped the car at Limestone Corner because I knew that the Cheviot was white topped and beautiful. Then this young couple ran from their car and took up a position in the sun, overlooking the view north. Do you notice that this is actually a romantic trio?

You can't see the Cheviot in this shot, but I liked it best of all those today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.