pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

A. B. C. Always Be...

Closing. 

So goes the maxim of Alec Baldwin’s ‘Blake’ in David Mamet’s searing and expletive-laden study of toxic masculinity; Glengarry Glen Ross. The slogan for the film was “A Story For Everyone Who Works For A Living”, which is generally kind of true, but is absolutely on the money for anyone who has ever worked in sales.

It was on my mind today as I “closed” deals/renewals on two more customers - thus alleviating my stress levels – and I thought back to around 20+ years ago when I had cast and was set to direct an amateur production of Glengarry Glen Ross only to find that I hadn’t properly checked the rights, which weren’t available as a professional production was about to start its run in the West End.

I was devastated at the time (we turned around a run of A Few Good Men instead, which seemed to be well received) and vowed to return it at some point. I can probably relate to it better now than I could back then and I think there would be a very interesting dynamic in having hotshot salesman; Ricky Roma (played by Al Pacino in the film), played by a woman. Mmmm, maybe that’s something to add to the to-do list for 2022….?

It’s been a productive day though, which has also seen three lots of washing get done and the car have a much-needed change of tyres. Almost managed to squeeze in wine and some Chinese food with P, which was a nice way to round off the day.

It was only on my way back from walking her home that I realised I hadn’t taken any photos today, so I snapped this one of the Parish Church from across the river.

It is one of the widest in England, you know…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.