pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

It's a wonderful film

Post-Christmas 2020, I picked up a DVD (remember those?) of It’s A Wonderful Life on the cheap. I’d never seen it before, so thought I would buy it in advance of next Christmas.

I have pretty strict self-imposed rules about watching Christmas films outside of December, but I had a night to myself, was all cosied up and as a long November drew to a close, I thought: why not? I am so glad I did and completely understand now why it is regarded as a Christmas classic.

Magic courses through it, the charisma of James Stewart is entirely captivating - that look of sheer horror on his face as he sees what life would be like if he “had never been born” – and that ending, which would sting the eyes of even the hardest Mr Potter-esque souls.

It was a fine end to another busy day. I’m usually trying to wind down at this time of the year, but if anything, it all appears to be gearing up. I was only able to squeeze in a five-minute nap today and had a moment of mild panic where I thought I hadn’t taken a photo, but fortunately I did get one of this coal tit visiting the feeders.

December tomorrow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.