Coal Fungus

Alternatively known as King Alfred’s Cakes or Cramp Balls! It is, reputedly, inedible. I found this little group on a fallen tree in the wood nearby. The lighter coloured ones will eventually turn black as they mature. I liked this version of my shots with the little patch of green moss at the top. A 10 shot focus stack. I balanced my camera on another fallen trunk nearby so that there was no movement between shots!

It was much warmer outside today! I did a 3 mile walk - which takes my total ‘boots on’ for the year to 940 miles. This means I have just 60 miles to go on my Land’s End to John O’Groats virtual walk. 31 days left in 2021, so I now need a smidgen under 2 miles a day on average.

Bad news on the COVID front - over the weekend our granddaughters’ school has reported an outbreak in the early years group, which includes the youngest girl…. sadly she has been kept at home today with a cough and a high temperature…so of course she has had to have a PCR test.

We may not be visiting them this week :-(

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.