Marionb

By Marionb

"Who Turned Off The Water?"

...Did You?"

I had to go to the optometrist this afternoon and his office is in the next block from the Parkwood Estate..a National Historic Site  - the home of RS McLaughlin in Oshawa. I have blipped photos from there before as it is a lovely place to drop in for a visit; the house has guided tours but the grounds are free and open for anyone to come in and walk around or have lunch in the outdoor tea room in the Formal Garden. 
 
Being in need of exercise and also blips, I had planned to go over there for a walk after my eye appointment thinking that it would be lovely in this new fallen snow and that I just might luck out and get a beautiful sunset as well.  Alas, the snow had pretty much melted, and there was no sunset to speak of, but I did take a couple of photos and then spent the rest of the time in their gift shop in search of Christmas gifts! All was not lost. 

The most dramatic feature of the grounds is the formal garden with all its fountains and statuary and hedges. At first glance, I had thought there was nothing there to photograph; everything looked so bleak and dreary. ( see extra) Of course there was no water in the pools or the fountains, and not a flower in sight; that was to be expected, but there were also no Christmas decorations, no lights on the trees...I guess I was too early for that?

But I was determined to get a blip out of all this dreariness anyway...hence.... the argument over who turned off the water! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.