88 or 888

Rainie would understand my heading. She is keen on the Supercars event held here today and follows the Kiwi - Shane van Gisbergen. He is in car 888. I don’t really follow Motorsport but it is the key event in Bathurst each year and if I was to pick a driver it would be Crain Lowndes in car 88. Here they are neck and neck at the top of the racetrack. I went to a formal dinner when I was president of our Apex Club and they were introducing young Craig at his first event. He has excelled and won and retired and returned. Seems such a nice chap but not as young as he was 25 years ago.

The race is held on Mt Panorama Wahluu. Each year (Wahluu is the Aboriginal name which they want to return to ). So far today they have had a white wallaby and echidna on the track and a blue tongue lizard under the track. I bet they wish they had stayed away today. Very Aussie. The PM and Premier were here. big day. Like the Tour de France but in our town. I watch some of the race as it is SO familiar, the track is just another street on a normal day. It is usually a 60k seed limit and takes me ages to drive due to steep sections. The Esses are amazing to drive down at about 30kph so how these guys do it at 100 I don’t know. They fly. The last time I went to the races about 20 years ago they did a lap in 2.12. Today they are hitting 2.03. The fastest ever lap was Jensen Button driving a McLaren. MP4 -23 Formula One ( what ever that means). Someone might appreciate my research.

There have been 7 deaths at this track over the years. Must be a sad event for their connections and family.

Now the good news. Day 8. The pinched nerve in my spine has improved considerably today. Hooray. The constant severe spasms have worn me out. I haven’t slept for a few nights so hope I can tonight. I’ve got side effects from the pills and a rash as I developed an allergy to my heat pack. I can walk about 20 paces so feeling quite cheery. I do feel like I have a bad dose of flu as far as aches and pains but nothing is like the spasms. Nothing touched them including the opioids. I haven’t got flu or respiratory problems but the rest of me feels exhausted.

Back to the race (1000km). Rainie’s guys are in second place and mine are 5th. Stay tuned……
Later. Well 888 had late true issues and came well down the pack but Rainie’s man won Supercar Champion of the Year.

My guys came 4th.
Winners car 25 Chaz Mostert and Lee Holdworth
Car 6 Waters and Moffat 2nd
Russell and Brodie 3rd

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.