Sunday walk

A surprisingly good night’s sleep for me considering I had been so cold and the wind really rattles the windows in this old house!  Gladys the GSD stayed “on guard” by the door of my bedroom all night - nearly fell over her first thing!  Nipped home to get changed and then went to church - it is beautifully  decorated and the Christmas tree is up.  Our communion hymn went “a bit wrong” - and I think I was the cause as I was trying to do the alto part, but the organist had given us the wrong starting note and it all went downhill from there! The last verse was fine, and the rector said it was a good example of the parable he had mentioned in his sermon so at least it had its uses!  Back up to the next village mid afternoon and took Gladys the GSD for a walk up Wilsden Hill.  Had intended to walk across to Harecroft, but the path got muddier and muddier until it was one big lake.  As the light was going I decided to retrace my steps and take a slightly different route back.  As Gladys doesn’t seem to understand the concept of “heel” I was nearly on my back in the mud several times!  Still we had a good walk and some lovely views from up there. Took quite a few photos when I could persuade Gladys to stop, but I liked this photo of the viaduct and the layers of cloud.  Will choose a hopefully less muddy route tomorrow, but it is nice to walk on some less familiar paths.  Bought the grandkids some sweet things from Yorkshire Treats today so I had better get on with some tea so that’s they can have them as dessert.  F is at work at Cobbles & Clay in Haworth and M is studying for her mocks which start tomorrow.  All is cosy in the lounge with the wood burner glowing, so a cosy evening is anticipated.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.