Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

Lights in the sky!

Only some of them in the sky, some are the reflections from the departures area at the airport! The actual image is a huge part of the airport Carpark which has been given over to drive through covid testing.
I left the house at 8.15 this morning, Colin gave me a lift to Balgreen where i caught the tram to the airport. All went smoothly and I was checked in and through security in no time. I went for a bacon roll at one of the outlets towards the early gates. They didn't have rolls, only sandwiches. I paid over £7 for some griddled bacon between two small slices of griddled sour dough bread. It wasn't even buttered! I think they saw me coming and I don't even like sourdough. They do have ordinary white bread but that apparently is only for lunch time not breakfast!!!
The Loganair flight all went very smoothly, one of the best landings ever. Its a tiny embraer plane with only 3 seats across. There were only about 25 on the flight and ridiculously, I knew the person sitting immediately behind me. Such a small world.
My budget compact hire car turned out to be a brand new automatic Audi A1, I wouldn't have chosen an automatic but it's lovely to drive. They tried to give me a 5 series BMW, i said no thanks though! I'll only do under 100 miles in total and that mainly in towns so it would have been a liability.
I met up with my sister and we headed off for the funeral which is the main purpose of our visit. It was a very personal service in a beautiful new crematorium near Romsey.
I really wanted to blip a picture of the coffin but somehow it didn't seem right to take pictures, so I've found an online picture which I've included as an extra. I hope that is permitted. I've made sure that the copyright is on the image.
I didn't even know such things were an option. Up until now, the most exciting coffin I had seen was a child's. It had been painted bright yellow by the family and had multi coloured handprints made by his friends all over it. I think it caused a storm 20 years ago as it was driven slowly through the New Town of Edinburgh! Why not though, it's an additional way of celebrating the personality of the person who has died. Graham would have loved it.
Keep safe folks, it's strange to be here in a place where mask wearing is not as second nature as it is with us, over the border.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.